Alison


This product is not available in the selected currency.

Descripci贸

AN IRISH TIMES FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2022 A GUARDIAN BEST COMIC AND GRAPHIC NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2022 A TELEGRAPH BEST GRAPHIC NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2022

'Alison absorbed, delighted and moved me with its quiet truthfulness' Helen Garner

'A genius graphic novel (but lots of words) about a young woman from Dorset who leaves her life to be with a much older famous artist in London. It's also brilliant on relationships, creativity and friendship (and the art world)' India Knight

'Every now and again a book comes along that is such a bright joy, so true, so beautiful and moving. Alison is one of those books. I loved it' Jessie Burton, author of The Miniaturist

'Alison is Posy Simmonds meets Edward Bawden - and really, what higher praise could there be?' Observer

'Subtle and deliciously complicated, this is a big book on big subjects, but lightly, elegantly done. I loved it' Tessa Hadley, author of Free Love

Alison is newly married, barely twenty and struggling to find her place in the world. A chance encounter with an older artist upturns her life and she forsakes convention and her working-class Dorset roots for the thrumming art scene of London in the late seventies.

As the thrill of bohemian romance leads inevitably to disappointment, Alison begins to find her own path - through art, friendship and love.

'This book is a testament to the right to choose your own life' Jessica Andrews, author of Saltwater

'A delicious portrait of 80s and 90s London and a more universal tale of a working-class young woman making a life in a world that has not been designed for the likes of her. For all its effortlessness [...] Alison ends up carrying a great emotional heft. It's a lovely book, and I cried at the end.' Guardian

Detalls del producte

Editorial
Profile Books Ltd
Data de publicaci贸
Idioma
Angl猫s
Tipus
Tapa dura
EAN/UPC
9781788169059

Obtingues ingressos recomanant llibres

Genera ingressos compartint enlla莽os dels teus llibres favorits a trav茅s del programa d鈥檃filiats.

Uneix-te al programa d鈥檃filiats