Summer Reading List

Per Village Books Dulwich

Per Village Books Dulwich

For most of us it will be a staycation again this year, but some of the books we have been reading recently have totally transported us! Here is a selection of books for the whole family to take on holiday.

How to Make the World Add Up: Ten Rules for Thinking Differently About Numbers

Tim Harford

9,99 € 9,29 €

From Tim Harford, economist and presenter of the BBC's brilliant radio show More or Less, How to Make the World Add Up explains how we should understand statistics and evaluate the claims we hear in the media with confidence and a healthy level of scepticism.

Diary of an MP's Wife: Inside and Outside Power: 'riotously candid' Sunday Times

Sasha Swire

10,99 € 10,22 €

For those of you interested in politics, Sasha Swire's Diary of an MP's Wife is a searingly honest, uproarious, and wildly indiscreet insight into what life is like in the thick of it.

Humankind: A Hopeful History

Rutger Bregman

9,99 € 9,29 €

If you're in need of something uplifting, Humankind: A Hopeful History by Rutger Bregman is a superb read which uses history to demonstrate humankind's innate capacity for kindness.

The Weekend: A Sunday Times 'Best Books for Summer 2021'

Charlotte Wood

8,99 € 8,36 €

Hilarious and heart-breaking in equal measure, The Weekend is an absolute must-read this summer. Sylvie, Jude, Wendy and Adele have been friends for decades, but when Sylvie dies the grieving women gather for one last weekend at Sylvie's old beach house and tensions are running high...

The Book Of Echoes: An astonishing debut. 'Impassioned. Lyrical and affecting' GUARDIAN

Rosanna Amaka

8,99 € 8,36 €

Brixton 1981. When sixteen-year-old Michael (who is already on the wrong side of the law) falls for Ngozi, a young immigrant from the Nigerian village of Obowi, their startling connection runs far deeper than they realise. A vibrant and powerful read.

Sorrow and Bliss

Meg Mason

14,99 € 13,94 €

Another brilliant book to take on holiday is Meg Mason's Sorrow and Bliss - it is sharp, big-hearted and has been described by Clare Chambers as 'Patrick Melrose meets Fleabag'!

Summerwater

Sarah Moss

8,99 € 8,36 €

Ella and Hannah loved Summerwater by Sarah Moss, a tension-building tale told over twenty-four hours about twelve people cooped up with their families in a drab Scottish cabin park.

Actress: LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE

Anne Enright

8,99 € 8,36 €

From Anne Enright, the Booker Prize-winning Irish author, Actress is a brilliant and moving novel about fame, sexual power, and a daughter's search to understand her mother's hidden truths.

Olive

Emma Gannon

8,99 € 8,36 €

A hugely entertaining story about modern womanhood - in Emma Gannon's Olive a thirty-something navigates her life without a compass, grappling with the restrictive expectations and stereotypes placed upon her.

Wave Riders

Lauren St John

7,99 € 7,43 €

Described by Piers Torday as 'a summer holiday in a book', Wave Riders by Lauren St John is a brilliant adventure story for ages 9-12 set at sea. A must-read!

Everyday Magic: The Adventures of Alfie Blackstack

Jess Kidd

6,99 € 6,50 €

After nine-year-old Alfie Blackstack's parents meet an unfortunate end, he must live in the SUPER CREEPY Switherbroom Hall with his mad-haired aunts. The thing is, Alfie's aunts aren't just weird - they're WITCHES! A hilarious adventure story for fans of Lemony Snicket.

Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow Book 3

Jessica Townsend

7,99 € 7,43 €

In Book 3 of the bestselling Nevermoor series, Nevermoor is under threat from a terrifying new illness and only Morrigan Crow can save the day!

Worst. Holiday. Ever

Charlie Higson

6,99 € 6,50 €

From the bestselling author of the Young Bond series, Worst. Holiday. Ever. is Adrian Mole for the new generation! Stan is terrified of going to Italy with his friend Felix. One thing's for certain, Stan's not going to come back the same boy he left. He just hope he comes back at all . . . We have SIGNED COPIES in store so call or email us to reserve one.

Sequins and Secrets

Lucy Ivison i Catharine Collingridge

6,99 € 6,50 €

Sequins and Secrets is the first in the new House of Serendipity series, a glorious 1920s-set romp starring a young dress-making duo, perfect for anyone aged 9-12 interested in fashion!

The Secret Detectives

Ella Risbridger

7,99 € 7,43 €

Perfect for fans of Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike series and Katherine Rundell, The Secret Detectives finds the freshly orphaned Isobel attempting to solve a heinous crime aboard the SS Mariana. Totally gripping! We have SIGNED COPIES in store so call or email us to reserve one.

A Dinosaur Ate My Sister: A Marcus Rashford Bookclub Choice

Pooja Puri i Allen Fatimaharan

6,99 € 6,50 €

A Dinosaur Ate My Sister is a brilliantly illustrated, laugh-out-loud, wacky adventure through time, and the first book selected in the Marcus Rashford Book Club. It is the perfect blend of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and Jurassic Park for 8-12 year olds.

The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

Maz Evans

6,99 € 6,50 €

Scarlett Fife has BIG feelings. And she's about to get into BIG trouble. From the bestselling Maz Evans comes a heartfelt and hilarious new series, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl's Matilda.

Something I Said

Ben Bailey Smith

6,99 € 6,50 €

From comedian, actor, rapper and screenwriter Ben Bailey Smith (aka Doc Brown) comes a blazingly funny, big-hearted story about family, friendship and how far one boy will go to get a laugh. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.

Bunny vs Monkey and the League of Doom!

Jamie Smart

8,99 € 8,36 €

The much-anticipated new Bunny vs Monkey is here! In this comic extravaganza, the pint-sized friends must face a giant robot whale, a pig cannon, a camping trip that goes wrong... oh, and the actual end of the world! Can Bunny and Co stop the apocalypse before it's too late?

The Caravan at the Edge of Doom

Jim Beckett i Olia Muza

6,99 € 6,50 €

Jim Beckett's brilliant children's book The Caravan at the Edge of Doom is a funny, magical, action-packed adventure story for a 9-12 year old to take on holiday! We have SIGNED COPIES in store so call or email us to reserve one.

The Danger Gang

Tom Fletcher i Shane Devries

7,99 € 7,43 €

The night after a storm, the kids who live on Franky’s street start to change. Franky realises that there’s real danger in store for himself and his new friends. And so the Danger Gang is born...