The Lost Storyteller


This product is not available in the selected currency.

Descripci贸

'A moving story and vivid characters. But it also has that special indefinable SOMETHING. One of my books of the year' Tracy Rees

'A powerful novel about the bond between fathers and daughters, and how stories connect us all. I loved it' Jenny Colgan

THE LOST STORYTELLER is the heartwarming and evocative debut novel from a stunning new voice in fiction, Amanda Block. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Jessie Burton and Diane Setterfield.

Rebecca hasn't seen her father Leo since she was six. Her family never talk about him, and she has long since pushed him firmly to the back of her mind. All she knows is that, once upon a time, he was a well-loved children's TV star.

But when a journalist turns up uninvited at her office, asking questions about her once-famous father, Rebecca starts to wonder whether there is more to Leo's absence than she realised. Then, looking for answers, she unearths a book of fairy tales written by Leo and dedicated to her - but what use are children's stories to her now, all these years later?

Tentatively, Rebecca tries to piece together her father's life, from the people he used to know and her own hazy memories. Yet her mind keeps returning to the magical, melancholic fairy tales, which seem to contain more truth than make-believe. Perhaps they are the key to unlocking the mystery of her father, the lost storyteller; to revealing who he was, what he went through - and even where he might be now...

THE LOST STORYTELLER celebrates the power and resilience of imagination.

'Absolutely beautiful . . . A cleverly wrought tale of fathers and daughters, and a bond buried so deep that it is lost to folklore' Polly Crosby, author of The Illustrated Child

'Captivating, moving and profound. I loved it! A spellbinding novel about the power of the stories we tell both to ourselves and to others' Tracey Emerson, author of She Chose Me


'Incredibly moving . . . A genuinely beautiful must-read' Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder

'Completely engaging . . . A lovely reflection on the power and magic of stories' Marianne Cronin, author of The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

'A warm, immersive read that weaves folklore through a story of self-discovery that touches on what it means to be a daughter, the ramifications of the past and daring to follow your heart' Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding

'. . . Beautifully, sensitively told. Block reminds us that people don't always behave as we want them to, and maybe because of that, there are few things so powerful as the ability to be kind' Wee Review

' Beautifully revealed, with a lovingly drawn conclusion' Zoe West, Woman and Home

'A beguiling, gorgeous book about fathers and daughters and the stories that bind and redeem us' YOU magazine

Detalls del producte

Editorial
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Data de publicaci贸
Idioma
Angl猫s
Tipus
Tapa dura
EAN/UPC
9781529360783

Obtingues ingressos recomanant llibres

Genera ingressos compartint enlla莽os dels teus llibres favorits a trav茅s del programa d鈥檃filiats.

Uneix-te al programa d鈥檃filiats