The Gifts: The captivating historical fiction novel - for fans of THE BINDING

(Autor)

This product is not available in the selected currency.

Descripci贸

'Fierce and touching' Jennifer Saint, bestselling author of Ariadne

'Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it' Stacey Halls

'Your next obsession. . . Unique and captivating' Cosmopolitan

Discover the extraordinary, luminous novel that everyone is talking about, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll Factory

In an age defined by men, it will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . .

October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders.

Meanwhile, when rumours of a 'fallen angel' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .

THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.

'A boldly feminist novel that lingers long after the last page' Susan Stokes Chapman, Sunday Times bestselling author of Pandora

'Imaginative, extraordinary . . . Brimming with historical detail and beautifully written, the soulful prose soars. It's an insightful, mysterious read celebrating female friendship and solidarity' Daily Express

'A stirring tale of female empowerment, full of vivid imagery and evocative settings' Observer

A glorious, evocative read, ripe for a movie adaptation. Victorian girl power? You bet' Apple Books

'In this glorious novel both women and words take flight. Don't miss it' Annie Garthwaite, author of Cecily

'I devoured The Gifts. A real gem' Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

'A beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic' Jenny Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne

'I absolutely loved The Gifts. A fiercely feminist tale . . . Punchy, bold and glittering with brilliance' Lizzie Pook, author of Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter

'Extraordinary. For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul' Jackie Morris, The Lost Words

Detalls del producte

Editorial
Bonnier Books Ltd
Data de publicaci贸
Idioma
Angl猫s
Tipus
Tapa dura
EAN/UPC
9781786580733
Mat猫ries IBIC:

Obtingues ingressos recomanant llibres

Genera ingressos compartint enlla莽os dels teus llibres favorits a trav茅s del programa d鈥檃filiats.

Uneix-te al programa d鈥檃filiats