The Coral Bride


This product is not available in the selected currency.

Descripció

In this beautiful, lyrical sequel to the critically acclaimed We Were the Salt of the Sea, Detective Morales finds that a seemingly straightforward search for a missing fisherwoman off Quebec's Gaspe Peninsula is anything but...

**SHORTLISTED for Crime Writers of Canada: Best French Crime Novel**

**LONGLISTED for the CWA International Dagger**

**NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER**

'A riveting story of old enmities, jealousies and friendships that come to light after a woman goes missing in a remote fishing village beautifully atmospheric' Gill Paul

'A haunting murder mystery about how human nature is every bit as dangerous and inscrutable as the sea draws out its suspense to the very last moment' Foreword Reviews

_________________

It's not just the sea that holds secrets

When an abandoned lobster trawler is found adrift off the coast of Quebec's Gaspe Peninsula, DS Joaquin Morales begins a straightforward search for the boat's missing captain, Angel Roberts a rare female in a male-dominated world. But Morales finds himself blocked at every turn by his police colleagues, by fisheries bureaucrats, and by his grown-up son, who has turned up at his door with a host of his own personal problems.

When Angel's body is finally discovered, it's clear something very sinister is afoot, and Morales and son are pulled into murky, dangerous waters, where old resentments run deep.

Exquisitely written, with Bouchard's trademark lyrical prose, The Coral Bride evokes the power of the sea on the communities who depend on it, the never-ending struggle between the generations, and an extraordinary mystery at the heart of both.

For fans of Ann Cleeves, Annie Proulx, Emma Stonex, Louise Penny and Jane Harper

_________________

'A police procedural like no other marvel at the clever plotting' Crime Fiction Lover

'An absolute joy to read, with as much tension as there is poetry' Le Journal de Montreal

'With a cast of characters you'll engage with and love and a mystery that will have you on edge, Bouchard pulls you into her world wonderful' Michael J. Malone

'Roxanne Bouchard is reinventing the crime novel' Quebec TV

'Emotive and tragically beautiful' Jen Med's Book Reviews

'This is a crime novel but it is also a story about fathers and sons, of strangers in a new land and of women in a man's world a work of distinction' Live & Deadly

'The captivating investigation also conjures up the tides and their mysteries, following the rhythm of the region, the icy course of its autumn tide' Le Devoir

'Beautiful, readable, unforgettable' From Belgium with Booklove

'Characters so vivid, you can hear their voices' The Reading Closet

Praise for Roxanne Bouchard:

'Lyrical and elegiac, full of quirks and twists' William Ryan

'Asks questions right from page one' Quentin Bates

'An isolated Canadian fishing community, a missing mother, and some lovely prose. Very impressed by this debut so far' Eva Dolan

'A tour de force of both writing and translation' Su Bristow

'The translation from French has retained a dreamily poetic cast to the language, but it's det-fic for all that ' Sunday Times

'Characters are well-drawn, from Morales, the cop, and his sturdy inspector, Marlene, to the husky fishermen who were Marie's devoted suitors three decades ago ... An exotic curiosity, raw nugget' Shots Mag

Detalls del producte

Editorial
Orenda Books
Data de publicació
Idioma
Anglès
Tipus
Rústica
EAN/UPC
9781913193324
Matèries IBIC:

Obtingues ingressos recomanant llibres

Genera ingressos compartint enllaços dels teus llibres favorits a través del programa d’afiliats.

Uneix-te al programa d’afiliats