Call the Vet: My Life as a Young Vet in 1970s London


This product is not available in the selected currency.

Descripci贸

Arriving in 1970s' London as a fresh-faced Canadian, Bruce Fogle assumed that because he knew the language, he would understand the English. As a graduate of the world's best veterinary school, he also thought his profession would come naturally to him. He quickly learned not to make assumptions...

Bruce began his career at the prestigious Woodrow & Singleton surgery in the heart of the Knightsbridge. Frequented by Britain's most distinguished pet owners, from Duchesses and Sultans to Paul McCartney and Elizabeth Taylor, it also cared for the exotic inhabitants of the Harrods' 'Zoo Department.'

Over the next few years, an arc of clients would cross Bruce's table, from cats and dogs to alligators, pumas and even a capuchin monkey. Each adventure taught Bruce far more than any textbook ever could, while skilful veterinary nurses provided the greatest lessons of all.

Call the Vet is a wonderfully rich and warmly funny memoir. Set against the vibrant backdrop of 1970s' London, it explores the unique bond between pets and their owners; the common thread of compassion that unites all cultures and classes, and the discovery of love and joy in unexpected places.

Perfect for fans of Noel Fitzpatrick, Ben Fogle and Kate Humble!

Detalls del producte

Editorial
HarperCollins Publishers
Data de publicaci贸
Idioma
Angl猫s
Tipus
Tapa dura
EAN/UPC
9780008424305

Obtingues ingressos recomanant llibres

Genera ingressos compartint enlla莽os dels teus llibres favorits a trav茅s del programa d鈥檃filiats.

Uneix-te al programa d鈥檃filiats